Home

The Long Beach Post, May 2013   “Crushing the Kinky Donut.”

Amazon Reviews

WordPress Review

5.0 out of 5 stars It’s not my fault., August 10, 2013
By
This review is from: It’s Not My Fault: Self Discovery & Admission (Kindle Edition)

This book is Amazing. You will laugh, cry, be shocked, maybe disgusted, possibly aroused. Did I already mention you will be shocked by the stories you will read? “It’s not my fault” is a compilation of short stories that will leave you speechless. It’s sexy and twisted. I loved every page! This author is hilarious! Can’t wait to read another book by Wendi Bear. If us readers are lucky, maybe she will consider stand up too. A definite must-read!

5.0 out of 5 stars Like A Stiff Martini, September 25, 2013
By L. Pudding “Sammich Lover” (boston) – See all my reviews
This review is from: It’s Not My Fault: Self Discovery & Admission (Kindle Edition)
I’ve been following Wendi Bear’s blog (electrikkiss.com) for a few months now, and I’ve already inhaled the bulk of the content there like some sort of ravenous wildebeast. After reading It’s Not My Fault from cover to cover, I can only say…more, please? The book is structured like a series of essays, some as short as a few page and others considerably more substantial, all told from the perspective of our narrator. There is continuity throughout the book, however, and it’s fun to see how people and places are weaved throughout as Wendi takes us on a tour of her life. The content is consistently hilarious, sometimes disturbing, frequently ridiculous and suprisingly moving at times. Excessive boozing, screwing, drug abusing and general insanity runs throughout, and if you can’t relate to these things you may not connect with the book. You probably don’t have any friends, either. Highlights include her on-again, off-again romance with “Donut”, a stalker of a dwarf, men with mullets, things done with tongues, hilarious injuries and generally naughty behavior. Wendi pens her exploits in a way that is disarmingly honest, self-effacing, and truly funny. With any luck, she will bring us more adventures in the future.

Oh, my.What should one expect from a book whose author describes it as trash, garbage, and urges readers to recycle on the back cover? Most of the vignettes in Wendi Bear’s “It’s Not My Fault” are shockingly funny, and Bear does a good job of using the one as a means to the other. Yet, like the theater’s twin masks, there is a subtle undercurrent of tragedy in the humor. Not enough to be a buzz-kill; and not always obvious, either. But it underlies the stories nonetheless. What appears as less-than-perfect editing adds sincerity to the first-person narratives, which is noteworthy as the author states these are not autobiographical. “It’s Not My Fault” is not for everybody. But for those whose sensibilities are not particularly delicate, it is an entertaining read.
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating, Raw, and worth getting dirty for. March 21, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
This is a fantastic collection of creative, sordid tales of the many toxic challenges a young woman can face on her journey to finding whatever and whoever she decides to be. The reader gets to tag along with the main character through countless bad decisions, bouts of debauchery, and meet plenty of undesirable characters along the way to share the experiences with. Laced with dark, self-deprecating humor, the writer takes the reader to places most have never hoped nor dreamed of finding themselves. Thanks to Ms. Bear’s crude and artful storytelling, the reader can get just close enough to an ATM encounter, without the foul aftertaste and lack of dignity. Well done.
 5.0 out of 5 stars I laughed, I cried, I was aroused… July 29, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
After trawling a popular internet site I stumble across a neglected post about a woman peddling her smutty novel. My curiosity was piqued immediately. As a writer, I figured I’d take a chance and if nothing else help support a fellow author. I haven’t been able to put this book down since its arrival. All the colorful characters and the whimsical scenarios had me roaring with laughter. There were also a few characters that made my blood boil. And quite a few chapters that steamed like a hot tub in winter. Wendi’s quirky wit and indescribable charm shines through in this wonderful take on life, covering all the gritty s*** Sex and the City didn’t want you to see. I finished reading this the same day I started…and as a straight man near 30, I’ll be reading it again tomorrow. Brava, Miss Bear!
3.0 out of 5 stars  Hide It From The Kids  August 27, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Wild alcohol-fueled sex. Check. Outrageous drunken escapades ending in sex. Check. Sex + alcohol = this book.This realistic first person confessional takes you under the covers and beyond. You feel as though you’re reading someone’s nasty diary. You feel a little dirty yourself for continuing to read, but, like a car accident unfolding in front of you, you can’t not look.That is its strength. You feel for the main character (whose name is *****). Some of the stories make you want to hug her, some make you want to shake her, and some make you want to barf. Or, all too often, all three at once.Though the author disclaims that this is a memoir, even insulting the reader for wanting to read “this piece of trash,” it feels personal. The incidents, people (sleezos and friends) and memories/feelings of the main character are rendered very realistically and believably. Warts and all!

What’s missing? Sober reflection, compassion — both for herself and the world around her, self-knowledge, plot, oh, and the kids. Yes, children. They are mainly referred to as annoyances who must be babysat while she cavorts. The humor isn’t really missing, as she tends to find most everything kind of funny, but would be a whole lot funnier after a bottle or two of Pinot Grigio.

If you like watching “Jerseylicious” you will love this book. It takes drunken drama to a whole other level.

5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly Raw April 11, 2013
By Todd
Format:Kindle Edition
It’s Not My Fault is so brutally candid, it feels like a Chuck Pahlianuk character escaped from a novel to tell her own story. Foul, yet familiar, it was an absolute delight. Couldn’t put it down. I highly recommend it.
5.0 out of 5 stars delicious and terrible for you….like a donut! March 21, 2013
By BDubs
Format:Kindle Edition
I am a loyal follower of her blog since I started reading in December….I am so happy to have a hard copy on its way to me after enjoying the eBook! Wendi’s stories are delightfully candid and hilariously recounted with a hindsighted wisdom that makes her impossible not to love, despite her crazy, twisted, and sometime times morally corrupt tales! She is unapologetic about how she became the person she is, and it turns out that person is pretty darn funny. Everyone loves a tale of turning dirt into gold, and Wendi has done just that! Be prepared to not necessarily be able to read these stories in public, as I learned with the blog one night at a cafe….people were staring at me, curious at the source of my wicked laughter. Are you still reading this review? WHY?! Get started on It’s Not My Fault!
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and always surprising March 20, 2013
By Ellie
Format:Kindle Edition
I stared reading the blog first and got really into it! You never know what you will read next, can’t really stop once you start! Funny and wonderfully inappropriate!
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously!!! March 20, 2013
By Gair48
Format:Kindle Edition
THIS is a real page turner…you never really know what’s gonna happen next. She can make lemonade out of the weirdest things.
5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy take on life’s mistakes March 20, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Life is hard and throws curveballs, but this author took these curveballs and threw them back through her writing. She writes about life experiences and how she over came them. Read it now so that you too will feel that your life is not so bad.
5.0 out of 5 stars makes you laugh March 16, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I started reading the blog back when it first came out, and love that it was turned into a book. The author really knows how to turn an Mundane fictional life into a comedy. I found myself laughing out loud. I would highly recommend this book to everyone. You will never look at life the same again. 🙂

Posted August 20, 2013

 Wow. So the concept of a scandalous sexy tell-all is nothing new

Wow.

So the concept of a scandalous sexy tell-all is nothing new, and no major new ground is broken with Wendi Bear’s It’s Not My Fault, but what surprises is how deftly and hilariously the sordid accounts are shared, without the slightest hint of irony or shame – it’s the sort of conversation you have with your own wanton friend, sitting across from your local dive bar as another trashy, sticky, sometimes even disgusting account is shared over tequila shots.

What’s also quite remarkable about this book is the clear affection Bear has towards some of the characters and situations written about, even when the stories veer towards the depraved.  Sexual partners are written about like old road trips – yeah the tire blew out, but what a view of the desert.  It’s a singular experience to find yourself alternately laughing maniacally in near-disbelief at some of the situations written about, then alternately smiling as you recall your own not-so-successful attempts at hooking up, or having drunk sex, or being the best judge of character.  This is a memoir about the sexual creature in all of us, told warts and all (literally), and although few of us can account to having had quite the libertine youth that Bear has had (few of us would dare!), we’ve all been drunk, we’ve all been careless, we’ve all been reckless and out of our element, and it’s refreshing to have these phenomena reflected on with a buzz and a joy and a gleefully naughty nostalgia with which they are rarely written.

Anonymous; Posted June 27, 2013; 5.0 out of 5 stars: Laundry room!
Goodreads

Funny as hell I couldn’t seem to put it down she pulls you in to the stories and makes you read on and on in every crazy and outrageously funny chapter when you think it can’t get any funnier it does great book of self-discovery I will definitely recommend it to my friends
Well written, original, intriguing, and so dirty you’ll have to shower after!!!! 🙂
Hazel Honey‘s review Aug 18, 13 4 of 5 stars Read in July, 2013
This was a funny book. wendi Bear has written a fast moving book that is impossible to know what’s going to happen next. It’s a book you will love or hate. As for me I enjoyed this book. I give it 4 stars. I would read another book by this author.
I was given this book free to review. In no way did this influence my review.
 —————————————————————————————————————————

Are you also an independent author looking to get your book reviewed?

Here are a few great sites to find lists of reviewers:

  Best of luck to you! ❤

http://www.theindieview.com/indie-reviewers/

http://www.stepbystepselfpublishing.net/reviewer-list.html

http://robinmizell.wordpress.com/book-reviewers/

http://www.bloggerdise.com

Have a review of my book or blog? Please leave it as a comment on this page!

What do YOU have to say about this? Comment here!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s